wallinspired

Just another WordPress.com site

Sunday Fun day: Open the Photo Albums

on May 13, 2012

Photo credit: Safe and Secure Vintage Photo from RomanceWriter

When was the last time you got out the old family pictures and talked about them with your parents, kids, or other loved ones?

I read two separate articles online that made me think about poring over the photos in my family photo albums. The first one I spotted on the Etsy blog. It was A Legacy of Style by Gabriella Cetrulo. She talked about the style of her mother in the 1970s, her grandmothers in the 50s and 60s, and her great grandmother in the 40s and 50s. She posted some great old pictures of each woman and it got me thinking about taking a look at my mom and aunts with their afros in the 70s. We also have photos from the early 1900s of family members whose names we don’t even know.

The second article I came across was Grandma’s Will from Yahoo! Voices contributor Amanda Barber. It is a good read about her spunky grandmother who inspired her to write. Reading her grandmother’s story made me think of my own grandmother, who would be 2 years older than hers. I know very little about her childhood and background. I would love to do some digging for more information about my grandparents and great-grandparents.

What about you? Do you know a lot about your family? How often do you look at you photo albums?


3 responses to “Sunday Fun day: Open the Photo Albums

  1. Sharon Earls says:

    Wonderful words of wisdom. We often forget about our ancestors – but without them we wouldn’t be here. Old photos are such a blessing. They’ve captured so many memories for us to relish.

  2. Amanda Barber says:

    Thanks for mentioning my story, “Grandma’s Will.” My grandma was a pretty amazing lady. Actually, both Grandma and Grandpa were pretty amazing people. Someday, I’d like to write a novel based on their lives.

    http://authoramandabarber.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

